B Major Scale

B Major Scale starts on the note B of the piano and consists of 5 Sharps. Here are the notes which build up our B Major Scale:

B C# D# E F# G# A# B

The Diagrammatic representation of the scale is given below. Rather than just studying the scale here, play it on the piano in both ascending and descending orders.

B Major Scale on Piano


B Major Scale – Intervals & Degrees

Intervals are of 2 types: Perfect and Non-Perfect. Perfect intervals are 1st, 4th, 5th and 8th notes of a scale. Non-Perfect intervals are of further 2 types – Major and Minor Intervals. These are the 2nd, 3rd, 6th and 7th notes of a scale. Major Intervals are from a major scale, while Minor Intervals are from a minor scale. Below you will find various notes of the B Major scale categorized in intervals and degrees.

  • Tonic – B (tonic)
  • Major 2nd – C# (supertonic)
  • Major 3rd – D# (mediant)
  • Perfect 4th – (subdominant)
  • Perfect 5th – F# (dominant)
  • Major 6th – G# (submediant)
  • Major 7th – A# (leading tone)
  • Perfect 8th – B (octave)

Fingering this scale

  • Left Hand: 4, 3, 2, 1, 4, 3, 2, 1
  • Right Hand: 1, 2, 3, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Example – If you are right-handed, then you will play the note B (with Thumb), C# (index finger) and so on. And if you are left-handed, you will start with the index finger (B), and then follow the pattern.

Follow Me
Latest posts by Rohit Tripathi (see all)