E Major Scale

Below we will learn to play the E Major Scale. It starts on the note E and has 4 sharps in its form. The notes which build up to create E Major scale are:

E F# G# A B C# D# E

The diagrammatic representation of the same is given below. Practice playing E Major scale on the keyboard until the time you perfect it.


E Major Scale – Intervals & Degrees

  • Tonic – E (tonic)
  • Major 2nd – F# (supertonic)
  • Major 3rd – G# (mediant)
  • Perfect 4th – (subdominant)
  • Perfect 5th – (dominant)
  • Major 6th – C# (submediant)
  • Major 7th – D# (leading tone)
  • Perfect 8th – E (octave)

Fingering this scale

  • Left Hand: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 3, 2, 1
  • Right Hand: 1, 2, 3, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Begin playing Note E with the thumb if you are right-handed. Follow the pattern to know the correct and easy fingering. If you are left-handed, begin with the last finger and complete the pattern.

Follow Me
Latest posts by Rohit Tripathi (see all)