C Major Scale

C Major Scale starts on the note C of the piano and is the simplest note to play. It does not have any sharps in its form. Here are the notes which build up our C Major Scale:


Below you will find the diagrammatic representation of the scale. If you have a piano with you, practice this note on the instrument until the time you master it in both ascending and descending orders.

C Major Scale on Piano


C Major Scale – Intervals & Degrees

Since it is a major scale, it will have perfect intervals and major intervals. Below is the division of various notes of C Major scale in intervals and degrees.

  • Tonic – C (tonic)
  • Major 2nd – (supertonic)
  • Major 3rd – E (mediant)
  • Perfect 4th – (subdominant)
  • Perfect 5th – (dominant)
  • Major 6th – (submediant)
  • Major 7th – (leading tone)
  • Perfect 8th – C (octave)

Fingering this scale

  • Left Hand: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 3, 2, 1
  • Right Hand: 1, 2, 3, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

If you are right-handed, you will begin the note C with the thumb. And if you are left-handed, you will start with the last finger. Then follow the pattern mentioned above.

Follow Me
Latest posts by Rohit Tripathi (see all)